Building Classification Codes

Building classifications under the National Construction Code


Building Classifications under the National Construction Code

The National Construction Code (NCC) prescribes 10 classes of building.

Class 1

These buildings are houses and include terrace houses, townhouses and guest houses.

Class 2

These buildings are apartment buildings.

Class 3

These buildings provide accommodation for large numbers of people and include hotels, motels, hostels, backpackers' accommodation and student accommodation.

Class 4 Part of a Building

A Class 4 part of a building provides accommodation in a non-residential building (Classes 5 to 9). A caretaker's residence in a storage facility is one example.

Class 5

These buildings provide office facilities for tenants such as government organisations, architects, lawyers, accountants and general medical practitioners.

Class 6

These buildings are typically used for retail and dining, and include hairdressing salons, public laundries, shopping centres, showrooms and funeral parlours.

Class 7

These buildings include carparks, warehouses and other buildings used for storage.

Class 8

These buildings are factories or places of service, such as a mechanic's workshop.

Class 9

These buildings include hospitals, aged care facilities, schools, universities and nightclubs.

Class 10 Buildings or Structures

Buildings in this class include private garages, carports and sheds. Structures in this class include retaining walls.

Mixed-use buildings

Buildings can have mixed uses, meaning they will have mixed or multiple building classifications. For example, a building that combines apartments, retail premises and a carpark would be classified as Class 2, Class 6 and Class 7.

Buildings may also have multiple classifications to allow for flexibility in how the space could be used.