Display - front desk

Organisational structure

The Hon. Sonya Kilkenny 

Our Minister

Minister for Planning, The Hon. Sonya Kilkenny MP

The Hon. Sonya Kilkenny MP was sworn in as the Minister for Planning on 5 December 2022. Ms Kilkenny is also Minister for Outdoor Recreation and has previously held the positions of Parliamentary Secretary for Early Childhood Education, Parliamentary Secretary for Health and Cabinet Secretary. Ms Kilkenny is a member of the Victorian Legislative Assembly for Carrum.

Chief Commissioner Michelle McLean

Our Chief Commissioner

Michelle McLean

Michelle McLean is an experienced Board Director and chair of the VBA Board. She is an expert in finance, governance and people management.

The board is responsible for the governance and strategic management of the VBA to ensure its effectiveness as a regulator.

Find out more about the VBA Board.

VBA CEO Sue Eddy 


Sue Eddy

Sue Eddy is the Chief Executive Officer of Victoria’s principal building and plumbing regulator, the Victorian Building Authority. She plays an integral role in making sure Victoria’s building and plumbing industry operate safely and effectively.

Sue is passionate about people, creating and leading teams that deliver real results to meet and – hopefully exceed - community expectations. As the leader of the VBA, Sue’s focus is squarely on the appropriate regulation of Victoria’s building industry to ensure the safety of the Victorian community.

Our Structure

The Victorian Building Authority's organisational structure is aligned to an integrated functional service model to respond to the needs of consumers and practitioners.

Organisation Chart (PDF, 3122.91 KB)