Building Amendment - Additional New Residential Zones

Friday, 31 October 2014

The Building Amendment (Additional New Residential Zones) Regulations 2014 were made, gazetted and commenced on 30 October 2014. 

The Amendment follows the implementation of the new residential zones and schedules to residential zones by aligning the building approval system with planning schemes containing varied height and siting provisions for the construction of single dwellings on an allotment.

Specifically, Schedule 5 to the Building Regulations 2006 has been updated to reflect approved planning scheme amendments for Ararat C33, Ballarat C177, Cardinia C187, Darebin C144, Greater Shepparton C173, Kingston C150, Latrobe C84, Moorabool C72, Mornington Peninsula C179, Southern Grampians C34 and Whitehorse C160.

To ensure consistency between the planning permit and building approvals systems in relation to height limits, Schedule 5 has also been updated to reference the Residential Growth Zone (RGZ) for all planning schemes in which that zone it has been applied.

Return to the latest news Arrow right