Changes to Specified Areas are Designated Bushfire Prone Areas

Monday, 2 May 2016

Specific bushfire construction standards apply in designated bushfire prone areas in Victoria. These bushfire construction requirements are aimed at improving bushfire protection for residential buildings.

The creation of the Bushfire Prone Area map fulfills one of the 67 recommendations made by the Victorian Bushfires Royal Commission. The Bushfire Prone Area Map for Victoria was reviewed and updated on 21 April 2016.

The 23 councils updated in the 21 April 2016 review are:

Ballarat, Bass Coast, Baw Baw, Cardinia, Casey, Greater Bendigo, Greater Geelong, Greater Shepparton, Hume, Latrobe, Macedon Ranges, Melton, Mitchell, Moorabool, Mornington Peninsula, Strathbogie, Surf Coast, Wangaratta, Warrnambool, Wellington, Whittlesea, Wodonga and Wyndham.

The Determination that Specified Areas are Designated Bushfire Prone Areas, incorporating amendments as at 21 April 2016 is available online. Fore more information on bushfires and bushfire resources, please visit the VBA bushfire page.

Return to the latest news Arrow right