VBA welcomes new Commissioners

The Victorian Building Authority (VBA) has welcomed four new Commissioners appointed to the building and plumbing regulator’s Board.

The VBA Board sets the direction and priorities and oversees the delivery of the regulator’s objectives and functions.

New appointees to the VBA Board include Dr Gillian Sparkes AM, Thu-Trang Tran, Murray Coleman OAM and Simon Weir.

Deputy Chief Commissioner Justin Madden AM and Commissioner Kelly Humphreys have been reappointed to the Board.

The VBA’s Chief Commissioner Michelle McLean said the addition of these new Commissioners will help the VBA be change-ready and future-focused.

“I want to congratulate our new Commissioners on their appointment to the VBA Board and I look forward to working with them to safeguard Victoria’s future.”

“All four new appointees bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the table that I’m sure will prove to be immensely valuable,” she said.

“I also want to thank outgoing Commissioners Ross Kennedy and Anna Skreiner who have both made lasting impacts on the VBA.”

Dr Gillian Sparkes AM is an expert in environmental management, governance, public sector management and stakeholder engagement. Among other roles, Dr Sparkes is the Commissioner for Environmental Sustainability in Victoria.

Thu-Trang Tran is the CEO of Volunteer West and has cross-sector experience in government, universities and NGOs, including the Department of Justice and the Oxfam-Monash Partnership.

Murray Coleman OAM is the Head of Development Projects ANZ at Macquarie Capital. Mr Coleman has more than 30 years expertise gained in the infrastructure, property and construction industries.

Simon Weir is a barrister with more than thirty years’ experience in personal injury and insurance litigation. He has worked as a Partner of Slater and Gordon and was a Senior Legal Counsel for the Victorian Workcover Authority.

“The VBA is a modern and innovative regulator that plays a key role in strengthening Victoria’s liveability and realising our economic potential,” Ms McLean said.

The four new commissioners join existing members Carmel Coate, Yvonne von Hartel AM, Dr Julia Cornwell McKean and Sam Torre.

Commissioners are appointed by the Governor-in-Council on the recommendation of the Minister for Planning. The new Commissioners are appointed for a three year period.