Crane and people on site

Building regulatory framework

The Victorian Building Authority (VBA) regulates Victoria's building industry, which is governed by the Building Act 1993 (the Act). The Act sets out the framework for the regulation of building construction, building standards and the maintenance of specific building safety features.

The objectives of the Act are to:

  • protect the safety and health of people who use buildings and places of public entertainment
  • improve the amenity of buildings.

Building Act 1993 includes both the Building Regulations 2018 and the Plumbing Regulations 2018. Sitting below these is the National Construction Code, which includes the BCA Volume 1 (relates primarily to building classes 2 to 9) and the BCA Volume 2 (relates primarily to building classes 1 and 10) and the Building Reference Standards.

Other acts that apply to the building industry include:

Building regulations

The Building Regulations 2018 (the Regulations) came into effect on 2 June 2018. The Regulations are a subordinate legislation of the Building Act and contain, among other things, requirements relating to:

  • building permits
  • building inspections
  • occupancy permits
  • enforcement
  • maintenance of buildings.

The Regulations adopt the Building Code of Australia (BCA), which is part of the National Construction Code.

Victoria’s building regulations generally have a ten-year shelf life before undergoing a comprehensive review to ensure they remain fit for purpose and meet intended objectives. The VBA is a key stakeholder in the review process and implementation of the Regulations.

See also the Building and Construction Industry Security of Payment Regulations 2023.

National Construction Code (NCC) 2022

The National Construction Code (NCC) sets out the requirements for the design and construction of buildings in Australia, including plumbing and drainage work. It sets the minimum required level for the safety, health, amenity, accessibility and sustainability of certain buildings.

  • Volume One: relates to Class 2 to 9 buildings.
  • Volume Two: relates to Class 1 and 10 buildings.
  • Volume Three: relates to plumbing and drainage work associated with all classes of buildings.

NCC 2022 will be adopted by states and territories on 1 May 2023.

Building Code of Australia (BCA)

The Building Code of Australia (BCA) provides technical provisions for the design and construction of buildings and other structures through the National Construction Code (NCC). It allows for state variations to provide additional requirements or cater for specific community expectations. This means the code defines the way of achieving a specified outcome without prescribing a particular method.