Building classes

Building classifications under the National Construction Code (NCC) are as follows:

illustration of a Class 1 building

Class 1

Domestic or residential buildings – single, standalone single houses and horizontally attached houses, such as terrace houses, row houses or townhouses. This class includes two sub-classifications:

  • Class 1a – a single dwelling or one of a group of attached dwellings, e.g. a terrace house
  • Class 1b – a boarding house, guest house or hostel with a floor area less than 300 m2.
illustration of a Class 2 building

Class 2

Domestic apartment buildings – a building containing two or more sole-occupancy units where people live above, beside or below each other. This class may also include single-storey attached dwellings with a common space below, such as a carpark.

illustration of a Class 3 building

Class 3

Residential buildings other than a Class 1 or Class 2 building providing long-term or transient accommodation for a number of unrelated persons. For example:

  • boarding house
  • hotel, motel or guest house
  • hostel or backpackers
  • student accommodation or workers’ quarters
  • residential care building.
illustration of a Class 4 building

Class 4

A single domestic dwelling within a building of non-residential nature (that is, a Class 5 to Class 9 building). For example, a caretaker’s residence within a hospital.

illustration of a Class 5 building

Class 5

Office buildings for professional and/or commercial purposes, such as offices for government agencies, accountants or lawyers.

illustration of a Class 6 building

Class 6

Buildings where retail goods are sold or services are supplied to the public, such as shops or restaurants. This class may include:

  • hairdressing salon
  • public laundry
  • shopping centre
  • funeral parlour
  • showroom.
illustration of a Class 7 building

Class 7

Buildings including carparks, warehouses or storage buildings. This class includes two sub-classifications:

  • Class 7a – carparks
  • Class 7b – warehouses, storage buildings or buildings for the display of wholesale goods.
illustration of a Class 8 building

Class 8

Factories – buildings used for production, assembling, altering, packing, cleaning etc. of goods or produce. This class may also include:

  • mechanic’s workshop
  • abattoir
  • laboratory.
illustration of a Class 9 building

Class 9

Public buildings – includes three sub-classifications:

  • Class 9a – healthcare buildings such as hospitals and day surgery clinics
  • Class 9b – buildings where people assemble for social, political, theatrical, religious or civic purposes, e.g. schools, universities, sports facilities, night clubs
  • Class 9c – aged care facilities.
illustration of a Class 10 building

Class 10

Non-habitable structures – includes three sub-classifications:

  • Class 10a – sheds, carports, private garages
  • Class 10b – fences, masts, antennas, retaining walls
  • Class 10c – private bushfire shelter.

Please note: Buildings can have mixed uses or be designed to serve multiple purposes. Refer to the National Construction Code for further information.